Productive IRC Sesh

<electronoob> bazz, np m8
[21:50] * kinkinkijkin has quit (Quit: Leaving)
[21:50] <bazz> Merit_Celaire, it’s been a dream of mine for years
[21:51] <bazz> http://snestracker.club
[21:51] <Merit_Celaire> I know some have prevailed at creating utilities that extract samples from SNES games.
[21:51] * ^Daverd has quit (Ping timeout: 194 seconds)
[21:51] <Merit_Celaire> And I’ve been doing SNES-music style arrangements using them using ModPlug Tracker.
[21:52] <Merit_Celaire> after importing the samples in.
[21:52] <Jimmyoshi> bazz there’s still going to be a piano-roll mode right? 😛
[21:52] <Merit_Celaire> Jimmyoshi, you’re STILL into that “piano-roll” mode thing, huh? 😛
[21:53] <bazz> I don’t see why not — electronoob is heading the GUI development right now, and as far as I’m concerned, those 2 “front-ends” could plug into the same “backend”
[21:53] <bazz> by 2 I mean the traditional tracker interface, and piano roll style
[21:53] <Jimmyoshi> everyone in the chiptune community has a hard-on for trackers, but no one seems to appreciate piano roll 😛
[21:53] <Jimmyoshi> it would be nice to see it get some love…
[21:53] <Merit_Celaire> And bazz – don’t you mean C-5?
[21:54] <bazz> C-5?
[21:54] <Merit_Celaire> Because when I received the tip on getting samples from the SNES games themselves and importing them onto ModPlug Tracker, I was under the impression to make sure that they’re tuned to “C-5”.
[21:54] <bazz> you’re the 2nd person to mention it, I always thought it was C-4 oh brother… At this point I think it’s really A-440 lol
[21:54] <Merit_Celaire> after importing.
[21:54] <bazz> I’m sorry I don’t remember
[21:55] <bazz> I’ll be learning more about it in the coming months, I give u the precise answer, but you seem to know it
[21:57] <bazz> forgive me, but I have a more universal understanding of it, beyond note values at this point
[21:57] <bazz> so check this out
[21:58] <bazz> the DSP pitch registers, when written $1000, play the sample at it’s recorded pitch
[21:58] <bazz> using that knowledge, and with a formula to derive pitch, I created an “88-key” SNES pitch entry table.
[21:58] <remmie> that’s a lot of money
[21:58] <remmie> </sarcasm>
[21:59] <bazz> haha
[21:59] <bazz> http://www.cs.umb.edu/~bazz/snes/tracker/Software/intervals.html
[21:59] <Jimmyoshi> lol
[21:59] <remmie> bazz, is that a check or debit?
[21:59] <bazz> So, really, there’s no “C-4” .. it’s more like intervals from the pre-recorded pitch
[22:00] <remmie> is there extensive docs on this or are you re-ing it ?
[22:00] <Jimmyoshi> the pitch value of a particular note would vary depending on the tuning of a sample though wouldn’t it?
[22:00] <bazz> C-4 ends up being a relative thing if anything. I can see how I could piss off some people by not using C-5 because they’re “used to it” .. but IDK what i’ll do.. I’m resonating with C-4
[22:01] <bazz> Jimmyoshi, precisely..
[22:01] <bazz> and this is why I want to add a “true” pitch mode to the tracker, by using pitch detection algorithms (FFT) and user permission (to avoid trying to detect pitch of weird samples)
[22:02] <Jimmyoshi> oooh
[22:02] <Jimmyoshi> so it’ll have a sample tuning feature basically?
[22:02] <bazz> depends on how you look at it.. if anything I would call it a true note displayer
[22:03] <Jimmyoshi> I thought of a way you could auto-detect the pitch of a sample by using the length of the “looped” portion, and using that to determine frequency
[22:03] <bazz> not affecting the sample settings just displaying the true note pitches
[22:03] <Jimmyoshi> problem is though that might not work in 100% of cases
[22:03] * Blaziken|420 (uid50000@id-50000.ealing.irccloud.com) has joined #botb
[22:03] <Jimmyoshi> like it might be off by a harmonic or so
[22:03] <bazz> please write your ideas in a more ever-lasting place
[22:03] <Jimmyoshi> since some samples loop multiple times
[22:04] <bazz> anyways I think you’re right about c-5.. I want to try out myself.. I get kind of lost in the different sample adjustments in a tracker that I forget what settings will play the “true pitch” …
[22:04] <bazz> like, I expect the true pitch to play at c-4.. but you say it’s c-5??
[22:05] <bazz> the funny thing is.. with sample adjustments.. we can easily make both things possible
[22:05] <bazz> which blurs the line
[22:05] * Beard has quit (Quit: Leaving)
[22:08] <bazz> I was right, well to be honest, it may be tracker-specific.. In Milky Tracker C-4 equals Sample’s recorded pitch
[22:09] <Merit_Celaire> Just as long as the pitch is in “C”.
[22:09] <Merit_Celaire> because when the sample is extracted, unless by a rare occurence, it’s in a key OTHER thank C.
[22:10] <Merit_Celaire> except for “percussion instruments/drumset instruments”.
[22:10] <bazz> And I agree with that totally, as C-4 is considered “Middle C” — it gives you a good range down and up beside it… But honestly, it makes more sense to use C-5 for SNES, since the SNES can only produce a max of 2 octaves up from the sample’s recorded pitch
[22:10] <bazz> but it can produce many more in the downward direction
[22:10] <bazz> with reduced accuracy
[22:10] <bazz> “scale-accuracy”
[22:11] <bazz> I’m sure it everything will be fine.. Just like any other tracker there will likely be sample editor where you can align the pitch to your liking
[22:13] <bazz> Jimmyoshi, I’m going to take my advice and try to take this information to my blog as a more everlasting place

[22:14] Jimmyoshi oh, alright

[22:15] Merit_Celaire Will this tracker import both .WAV and .BRR sample files?

[22:15] Merit_Celaire Because before someone was able to “extract” samples will keeping it as .BRR, someone else was able to “extract” the samples and save them as .WAV (after converting it to an .IT tracker file and playing it in ModPlug Tracker).

[22:17] Jimmyoshi I would assume it’d have WAV support too

[22:18] * Savestate has quit (Ping timeout: 189 seconds)

[22:18] Merit_Celaire *while keeping it as .BRR

[22:18] Merit_Celaire Here’s the thing: the person who was able to create the application and save the samples as .WAV, they managed to keep the “loop data” for the samples, it any.

[22:19] bazz I honestly have no idea, I haven’t gotten that far yet. Don’t take it too seriously yet, I’m just trying to learn how to use Blargg’s APU and load the APU with a hand-crafted SPC programmatically

[22:19] Jimmyoshi I think it would be cool if you could import wav samples while keeping their loop points intact, regardless of the “multiple of 16” loop limit

[22:20] Jimmyoshi I think there’s a program that can do that already, but it involves re-looping the sample a bunch of times until the loop point reaches a multiple of 16, which isn’t particularly optimal

[22:20] bazz it will obviously load BRR samples, not sure about WAV yet. haven’t looked into it.. There will of course need to be Bregalad’s BRRTools at least, and a check to see if the WAV is too big.. A standard sample size should be determined from many brr samples that are from games out there, so that if the result is big but will fit, the user can be warned that he may be wasting precious RAM

[22:21] Merit_Celaire All right, everyone; I have to go – gotta get some food and refill my minutes for my wireless internet at home (I’m at my local wireless hotspot taking care of stuff here). I’ll see you on the other side.

[22:21] bazz The loop point / WAV stuff is interesting, but I’m just not ready to focus on that. I just want to play a sample from SDL in Blargg’s APU

[22:22] jeca-jeca mrsbrisby had some reluctancy workin with em in schism too

Leave a Reply

